The Committee consists of ten members: two lay representatives and members with different professional backgrounds.

The committee evaluates the ethical aspects of research where the source material consists of human remains which are in public museums and collections, or which will be found in future archeological and other surveys (i.e. complete skeletons, parts of skeletons, and other human remains). These are often human bones found in archeological excavations, but may also include human remains which have never been in the ground (for example parts of bodies used in artifacts, bodies contained in coffins and sarcophagi).

Scientists intending to use human remains in their research are advised to present their projects to the committee for ethical evaluation by the committee.

The committee bases its ethical decisions on various ethical principles, including those adhered to by national and international bodies. In addition, the committee takes into consideration existing legislation, like the Cultural Heritage Act (Kulturminneloven), the Burial Act (Gravferdsloven), and the international conventions Norway has endorsed, like the Convention on the Protection of the Archaeological heritage of Europe (Malta Convention). The committee also works on its own guidelines.

The National Committee for Research Ethics in the Social Sciences and the Humanities (NESH) is the secretariat for this committee.

Members 2018-2021:

Nils Anfinset (Chair)
Kjetil Fretheim
Siri Forsmo
Sean D. Denham
Jens Rytter
Elin Myrvoll
Therese Robertsen Almaas
Birgitte Skar
Tora Hultgren
Ynn Yilmaz
Lene Os Johannessen (Secretary)